top of page
  • Writer's pictureSri Bala S

Those nights with friends #Fiction(2)

This is a work of fiction. But also not really. Based on moments with the wonderful humans in my life. Enjoy 🙂


Its been a long day… I got back home and collapsed on the couch. Why is it okay for universities to give this much work? I rolled my shoulders and mentally prepared myself for a long night.


My phone buzzed. I looked to see who it was, prepared to ignore them, but I realised it was an all too familiar name. My annoying best friend. Somehow, she always seems to know when I’m on the verge of striking out.


I picked up. “HEYYYYY!” she yelled. I winced, “Al, do you always have to be so loud?”

“Sorry sorry I haven’t heard from you in a while so I was excited to talk to you.”

“My bad, Al. I’ve been dying under a pile of work. Plus… you saw me two days ago.”

“But I missed youuuu.” She whined like the cute person she is. My Al, whom I shall always protect. Too pure for this world.

“I missed you too. Sorry I’ve been MIA bestie”

“You better be sorry. So… what’s been going on?”

I knew she’d hear the tired in my voice the moment I reply. “Nothing, love. Just tired. So much of work. Sometimes it feels like I’m running and I’m still not able to catch up to those around me. But enough about me. Tell me about you.”

“I’m the same. Still ‘intimidating’ to those around me. I’m wondering… how can a smile be intimidating? At this rate, I’ll have to put a bag over my face when I go to class.”

I snickered “Well, if anyone can rock a bag over their head it’s you. And hang in there. They’re soon going to see the big ol’ softie you are and you’ll be complaining to me about how little time alone you’re getting.”

“That’s sweet. Hey, are you busy right now?”

“Well, I was going to fight a losing battle against my mountain of work but apart from that I’m free.”

“Okay. Remember when we said we’d do something spontaneous every now and then?”

“Yes… oh no, where is this going?”

“I’m going to the mart to buy some popcorn and ice cream and I’ll be over in twenty minutes tops.”

“Wait. Did you just… invite yourself over for a sleepover?”

“Yes I did. You’re welcome. You set up the place and we can waste our time together like old times.”

“Alright, alright, you’re set on this. I’ll be waiting.” She hangs up. She knows I sound exasperated but also that I’m secretly thrilled. Just like old times. She always knows exactly what I need. What did I do to deserve her?


Twenty minutes later, I hear the sound of my door being opened. I run to help her with the bags. I’d already cleared the couch and kept blankets for us, and Netflix was ready for us to watch till the sun rises.


And that’s what we do. Curled up on the couch. Watching TV. Laughing like old times. It feels like a weight has been lifted.

I poke her and when she looks at me I say “Thank you.” She beams in response.

And in those long hours we spent watching I know we both thanked the gods for letting us find each other.


For always giving us a safe space. We’ve been best friends for years. Sisters for life.

And I realise… you don’t need the big moments, the flashy moments in life. All you need is a friend to stay by your side. A friend with whom you can watch the sunrise with and make stupid decisions and laugh and cry with.


All the best moments in life, are hidden in those little moments.


And that is what makes you complete.


– SB


Posting twice in one day, who am I? Anyway, this is a short story? Interlude? Episode? Whatever you want to call it

It’s dedicated to my beasties, sorry besties (lol, don’t kill me), who have stayed by my side through thick and thin and everything in between.

I love you guys.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page